Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Charging a kwik klip glow plug igniter

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Charging a kwik klip glow plug igniter

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2011, 12:12 PM
tburlington

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging a kwik klip glow plug igniter

I am new to this hobby and a little stupid when it comes to the batteries. I recieved a kwik klip glow plug igniter with a charger from my uncle. It is used and I don't even know if the battery is any good but would like to see if it can hold a charge. How do I know when it is fully charged? Does the red light on the charger go out when it is complete? How doI test the battery? Can someone please help me.
Old 07-10-2011, 01:05 PM
red head

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Charging a kwik klip glow plug igniter

Good question !!!! In way to many years I've never even thought about the igniter, it just works. I usually just charge it for about 8 hours and throw it in the box. If it doesn't light my plug the next time I charge it again and if it doesn't work again I get a new battery for it.

I check mine with an old glow plug ( still good ) that I keep on my bench, if it glows good it should work. On a lot of the igniters the case gets dirty or corroded inside or the plug end gets messed up. A good cleaning will do wonders. Just charge yours then check it with a plug, if it glows it should be OK. ( be careful when putting the plug in the igniter, they can get really hot to touch.) If you can replace your battery, you can get them at Radio Shack. What ever you do DON'T go over about 1 1/2 Volt. ENJOY !!! RED
Old 07-10-2011, 01:13 PM
tburlington

Thanks Red I will give it a shot.
Old 07-10-2011, 02:12 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts