Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

New to RC

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

New to RC

Old 08-11-2011, 03:55 PM
RShady

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC

Greetings everyone.
OK first off I am completely new to all this. I went to my local AMA meeting and met some nice guys. I had to run so I couldn’t stay. Anyway They are having a competition on building a plane.I want to join in. I found some patterns to make a plane from balsa, the biggest problem, I don’t know how to Wire in servos or any of the controls. Is there any place I can look to get information on how to do this? Also I would like to know what to look for in servos to buy, as well as in a transmitter receiver.Thanks I know I’m asking a lot.

Thanks again
Ryan
PS:Yes I know I am jumping in to this full force. It’s a bad habit of mine but it comes out with some fun experiences.
Old 08-11-2011, 04:11 PM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: New to RC

Welcome to the hobby.

First of all, there are a lot of good choices for radio systems, and, most are cross-compatible with servos.

Servos plug directly into the receiver so there is no "wiring" necessary. You simply put the servo according to the plans, then run the wire harness to the receiver, plug it in, and off you go.

If you want recommendations for a good radio system, well, you will get more than you bargained for here.

I can personally recommend Airtronics, the RDS8000 system is great. Also, the full-range Spektrums are great too... the DX6i or DX7 systems are affordable and are very good systems. I am not personally familiar with the Hitec or Futaba systems, but they are very well liked by those that own them. Spektrum and JR are very similar so you could consider them as one system when considering what to buy.