Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

I am new

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

I am new

Old 01-30-2012, 10:46 AM
unix4linux

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I am new

Hello All,

My name is Tito and I have been wanting to venture on this new hobby for a while. I honestly do not know where to begin. I have no RC experience with planes and don't know what the best place to start is. I read a couple of the stickies but a lot of the information to me is foreign because I don't necessarily know how to get my feet wet or if I am going in the right direction.

I guess I should start off with a little bit about myself and my goal(s). I am a Computer Scientist over at Kennedy Space Center. I am 29 years old, married to a beautiful wife and we have a beautiful daughter (Sophia), whom is 1 year old. I enjoy watching sports and working on my most expensive hobby (cars). Sadly, this is expensive because building a race car is like working on your roof (or worse). It'll only last a few years before you have to re-do the whole thing. And in a car, that means $10K+ minimum. Yikes!!!

So, yes...I have a family to think about (financially) as many of us do. I am settling down on the car hobby and getting into something that I know I will enjoy a lot and perhaps my wife and daughter can eventually enjoy with me as well (RC Planes). It's def. a lot less expensive than building a blown engine after X amount of runs/passes a season..sigh!

With that said, I would like to learn as much as I can to get myself into expert (whatever that means ) mode in a few years. I would eventually like to build my own models from scratch and perhaps design my own. It will be an exciting time when I become well prepared to fly jet engines, but that is long ways from my skill level.