Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

EsC

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2013, 04:49 PM
millermonsterair

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EsC

im looking for an esc. i am getting a parkzone P-51 BL from a friend. it has a 1100kv motor in it and I will be putting a Spektrum AR400 receiver in it. what esc do i need that would be easy on the wallet and easy to set up? I have never done any of this before.
Old 03-29-2013, 03:27 AM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: EsC

The ESC must match the motor and prop for a plane of given weight. The combination will draw current from the battery pack and the rate at which the current draw happens will determine what ESC you need. Also, if it's a brushed or brushless motor makes a difference.

Find out the overall weight of the plane and decide how you wish to fly the thing. Look at the top of the Beginners Forum for a "sticky post" titles "Prop Chart and Basic Electric Setup". Within that sticky thread is a post that has "power to weight" and pick a flying style.

Note that this will refer to the maximum power that the ESC/MOTOR/PROP will draw during flight. Power = watts. Watts = Current x Voltage. The voltage is fixed at the number of cells in your LiPo pack and the arrangement (series, parallel, or series parallel). Most beginner packs are series and at 11.1 volts (nominal) per 3 cell pack. So, that's a "constant". The variable is the current draw. If, for instance, your plane will draw 20 amps max then the wattage here is 11.1 X 20= 222 watts.

The power required for various types of flying styles will give you some indication of what you will need for your plane.

You must take the entire weight factor into account, meaning the fuselage, servos, receiver, battery pack, ESC, motor, prop, everything. Get the weight and factor this in to determine what the wattage will be and figure out the current draw and buy the ESC accordingly.