Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First plane

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First plane

Old 05-10-2013, 09:17 AM
Kenny_A40

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First plane

Hello, everyone.

I am just getting started into R/C planes and have never flown before. I went out and bought a Hangar9 Alpha 40 RTF trainer. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions before my first flight attempt( hopefully next weekend). I already joined the AMA upon the suggestion of my local hobby shop. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 05-10-2013, 09:40 AM
grosbeak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: First plane

Yes - join a local club and find an instructor. You've bought a very good trainer but it takes skills to fly and those are built by practice. If you attempt to fly that plane without help there's a very good chance that its first flight will be its last.

Also - a glow powered plane such as the Alpha 40 should only be flown at a sanctioned AMA field. Another benefit of joining a club.
Old 05-10-2013, 09:59 AM
dasquirrelisme
My Feedback: (81)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Like he said get someone to help. Most people would have no problem helping you. There might also be someone from the club that would loan you a flight simulator which helps get your fingers trained on the controls.
Old 05-10-2013, 10:02 AM
AMA 74894
My Feedback: (1)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

+1 grosbeak is spot on for both points.
looks like TRI STATE MODEL FLYERS is right in your neighborhood.
check http://www.modelaircraft.org/clubsearch.aspx and put your zip code in there..
it should show the email and phone Contact info right there (even a MAP!).
Good Luck!!
Old 05-10-2013, 10:24 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Ditto. Find someone experienced who can go over the plane and check it out for you to make sure everything is as it should be for the first flight..