Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First time electric flyer needs help on validating motor, ESC and LiPo pack

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First time electric flyer needs help on validating motor, ESC and LiPo pack

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2014, 08:41 PM
tintinthepirate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time electric flyer needs help on validating motor, ESC and LiPo pack

Hi folks,
I am building a kit build Carl Goldberg Tiger II (5Lb or so low wing trainer, slightly modified to be a tail dragger with dual aileron). It's now 80-90 percent done and I need to get motor/ESC/LiPo pack to decide the modification to fuselage. I have zero experience with electric motors so I got most ideas from this article:
http://www.flyrc.com/glow-to-electri...n-tips-part-i/

Based on this article I have decided to get the following:

Golden Power A4120-7 530KV 530kv 1200w 55A max 300g $45.00
http://www.buddyrc.com/golden-power-...ess-motor.html

ZIPPY Compact 4000mAh 4S 25C Li 370g $34.00
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...lipo_pack.html

TURNIGY TRUST 55A SBEC Brushless Speed Controller $24.00
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

Could someone with experience confirm if this is an reasonable setup?

Another motor I considered was
Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 - 4250-410kv Brushless Outrunner Motor
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_motor.html

but based on my limited undersanding of electric motors this one requires bigger prop which might not be ideal for the Tiger 2

Thank you!
Old 06-23-2014, 05:22 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

The motor should be fine, but if you prop the plane for the recommended 800 watts you'll be right at the top of what the speed controller can handle. Doing that will cause your speed controller to prematurely fail, so I'll suggest going up to a 75-80 amp unit to allow some headroom.