Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Building my first wooden plane!

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Building my first wooden plane!

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2014, 09:06 AM
n.crompton

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building my first wooden plane!

Hi, I have no experience in building RC planes. I have built a couple of Wot 4 Foam-e planes but want the challenge now of taking this into building a wooden plane, though not scratch build.

I would like to progress one day into building a Warbird 1/5 scale, say like a P-47Thunderbolt but in order to get there, I obviously realise I need to learn quite a lot.
If you could give me some kind of plan that will get me the experience I need, I will be hugely grateful.

My flying skill level is intermediate!
Old 08-10-2014, 09:36 AM
Rodney

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Probably the easiest and most likely to succeed would be to buy one of the SIG kits and build it. You will see how it is done and most of the SIG kits will be fine flyers.
Old 08-10-2014, 07:07 PM
foodstick

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to building ! It really is easier to build a basic kit or two before trying something with a more complicated compound curved fuselage..
However read up as much as you can to see if something you like has a VERY good instruction manual.. then decide if you want to give it a go.
Hopefully you will be a more established flyer by the time the kits built and be more at ease flying it.

I would see if you can find someone to ask questions from locally, and help keep you on the straight and narrow
Old 08-11-2014, 05:27 AM
trogladyte

A good solid, and true, building board is the first place to start. I used to use ply or MDF with softboard or cork on it in the past. However, having just moved to Phoenix, I set up a new board that's magnetic. Thin sheet of metal on the ply and a bunch of magnets. Have yet to use it, but it looks a great system.