Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

dle 35 spark plug installation

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

dle 35 spark plug installation

Old 03-20-2018, 03:30 PM
left seat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dle 35 spark plug installation

I have a dl 35 installed on my Taylorcraft. This is my first time using a gas powered engine. The engine is brand new and unbeleivably comes with very little in the way of an owners operating manual. I found an owners manual on line but it does not explain how to install the spark plug into the electrode wire or what the spare spring was for. My problem is I can't figure out how to get the spark plug to fit inside the electrode wire. Also, there is a small spring inside which to me doesn't make sence. There is also an extra, identical similar spring. I took it too the hobby shop where I bought it and although they were just as confused as i was they did say to contact the RC Universe Forum. Also, the minimal instructions said not to use metal cleveces to use plastic only on the throttle and choke, why? Any help with this problem will be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-20-2018, 05:42 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

At the end of the ignition box wire there is the spark plug boot that is already attached to the wire. Inside this boot is a small spring. Simply push the boot onto the end of the spark plug while slightly twisting the boot side-to-side a little. It will take a bit of pressure but it will push onto the plug and you will feel it when it does.
The outer edge of the ignition boot/cap needs to slide over the metal shell hex of the plug to be considered attached. Again, it does take some effort to "push" the cap onto the plug.

They give you an extra spring with the engine.
Old 03-28-2018, 03:42 AM
Rotten40851
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts