Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

A challenge, insane or just a bad idea

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

A challenge, insane or just a bad idea

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2019, 08:20 AM
usnretired1997

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A challenge, insane or just a bad idea

I am new to place RC. Flew helos though. REALLY want to build a warbird, giant scale. Just to do it and enjoy my down time. With a giant kit like a Zirolli, is it just too agressive a build? I am really good with my hands, tons of tools and computers to research and design.

Just a thought.

Jerry
Old 08-03-2019, 06:53 PM
Appowner
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

My first inclination is to say, no way! Don't try it. However, I have seen others take on a scale project early in their experience and make it work. So I'll start by asking, what experience with RC airplanes do you have? Include building as well as flying.
Do you understand what make a plane fly? i.e. how the controls make it do what it does?
And just how scale are you looking at? Precision? Stand Off? Or "satisfies me scale"?

It all plays into it.
Old 08-04-2019, 09:50 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

If you're looking at building something to display, a Ziroli could be a nice display model. IF, however, you plan on actually flying it but have only flown R/C helicopters, you might want to work your way up. Start with a trainer, such as a Sig Kadet Sr kit, and work up from there. Something else to consider is that warbirds are notorious for being aircraft that are very heavy, as far as wing loading. This may mean that you would have to learn to fly with flaps and retracts, just for starters. A large warbird is a large investment as far as time and funds so it would be a shame to see those commodities end up in a garbage can.
Old 08-04-2019, 01:18 PM
red head