Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

New from Wisconsin

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

New from Wisconsin

Old 11-09-2020, 12:55 PM
ditto1958

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New from Wisconsin

Hi all, Iím just getting started and looking to buy and learn to fly my first electric plane. Iím not a complete novice- Iím not a pilot, but Iíve taken the controls and done turns in real light airplanes. Iíve also spent many hours at my computer on Microsoft flight Sims. But I do know enough to start with a trainer. My preference is for one that looks like a real plane. Looking for recommendations on what to buy and wner
to get it. The last remaining hobby shops in our area donít have much to choose from
so Iíll likely need to order online
Old 11-11-2020, 04:28 PM
GiantAntCowboy

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Welcome to the hobby!

The best thing you can do before getting an RC plane is use a simulator, there are some really nice ones like (Ex:RealFlight or Phoenix) but this depends on your budget.

There is a free Phone App called AbsoluteRCSim which is good for basic introduction to the controls and orientation issues. If you can manage to fly methodically and land constantly using this app then you have learned something. It's certainly harder than you think, but free to practice. The real sims are much better because you use an actual controller, instead of a touch screen, but the principals remain the same.

I've also flown real planes in the past, and unfortunately the skills don't translate. The basics of aerodynamics remains similar but the controls are different and become opposite when the plane changes direction. Some have said RC planes are hard to fly then real because of the orientation and lack of feel.