Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Help Needed for a Newbie

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Help Needed for a Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2003, 10:50 AM
Patchlander

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Needed for a Newbie

Hi all
wow this is one massive forum!!!

i'm new to RC and only got a JP Electra Fun as a Toy to see if the bug bites, which it has.
anyway i have just bought a PICOLO Helicopter which all is fine.

in my great haste i went to a swapmeet and bought a Europa mc 1020 TX without reciever hopeing i could use it with the picolo.
all that happens is NOTHING! the guy showed me the TX working yet i cant get it working with the Picolo ever with the same crystals.
so maybe incompatible reciever?

any help would be appreciated and the second question is which RX should i buy for this TX.

hope you can help
Old 12-28-2003, 09:25 PM
Combat Addict

Default RE: Help Needed for a Newbie

Well, I don't know much about helis, but if you haven't I would recommend flying airplanes first. Just like full scale pilots do b4 they fly helis.
I don't know anything about the type of radio, but make sure the crystals are on the same frequency. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Old 12-29-2003, 12:01 AM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Europa isn't seen in the states, at least I haven't seen one in my eight years. Aircraft in the states is 72 mHZ, ground vehicles are usually 27. I think in the UK you're on 53(?) for aircraft, is that the transmitters frequency? A Futaba transmitter will not work with a JR receiver, you may also have a similar problem.

And I agree, helis are really very hard to fly, so learning on a plane is good advice. A crash with a heli usually results in costly repairs, and while I know the Picolo i a small, light weight heli, I'm guessing it'll still be pretty difficult.