Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Running in OS .46 Engine

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Running in OS .46 Engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2004, 08:40 PM
xanatos

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running in OS .46 Engine

Hi All,

I am a complete newbie and have just purchased a Hobbico Nexstar. I intend to do the right thing and join a local club to get some seasoned flight instruction but thought I would try running in the engine myself prior to doing so. The OS .46 FXI manual does provide a detailed list on how to run the engine in but it assumes that the needle limiter, installed by the hobbico people is not present. The Nexstar manual however warns the user not alter the setting of the needle limiter.

So I guess my question is should I not bother to run the engine in?

Any help appreciated

Regards

Ian
Old 01-02-2004, 09:03 PM
Dewalt17

Default RE: Running in OS .46 Engine

Hey Ian,

Dont bother with what the Nexstar manual tells you. Read the manual for the OS engine that came with your plane. It explains pretty well how to break the engine in. Dont worry about the needle limiter that came with it. I didnt install mine on my Nexstar. The manual says to close the needle valve then open 1 1/2 turns which ends up being very rich. You can adjust back down from there.

Good Luck and Happy Flying!!!!!!

Sean
Old 01-02-2004, 09:09 PM
xanatos

Thanks Sean will do!

Ian
Old 01-02-2004, 09:56 PM
Yub, yub, cmdr!

Xanatos, where are you gonna fly?

If you go to CMRCM, then I can finally see what all the NexStar craze is about!!!!
Old 01-02-2004, 10:28 PM
bobs_201
My Feedback: (1)