Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Can I fly without aileron

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Can I fly without aileron

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2004, 01:05 AM
spawnxx2k

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I fly without aileron

I am new to flying and have a kadet lt 40. I was wondering if I can fly without using the ailerons. They are installed but can I just not hook the servo in the receiver and have them stay put? I dont want to do anything fancy just get up and fly around a bit.
Old 01-03-2004, 01:07 AM
GrnBrt
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: Can I fly without aileron

Yes you can as a lot of us learned on rudder only but I would still hook them up so the servo will hold them at neutral. Why do you want to fly without the ailerons?
Old 01-03-2004, 01:54 AM
RichD

my dad used to be in the hobby in the early 70's flying .10 sized planes with rudder/elevator/throttle only.
Old 01-03-2004, 02:15 AM
RichLockyer

I'd be very careful. Typically, planes designed for rudder control only have a little more dihedral than an aileron-equipped plane.
Old 01-03-2004, 02:39 AM
Tom Nied

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

I think you could if you can lock them in neutral. Plenty of dihedral and enough rudder. But I wouldn't. The chances are greater that they will move while in flight, then you're screwed. My g/f built a LT-40 and its a wonderful plane. I strongly suggest flying with all four channels. Now my first plane was a Kadet Senoir, a three channel. Flies just fine but I really prefer the roll authority that a four channel plane offers. My Avistar actually is easier to fly compared to my Kadet Senoir.

Best suggestion I could give you, have an experienced flyer check it out and give you a hand with it during its first fights. It's just a good trainer and you can have a lot of fun with it.

Tom Nied
Old 01-03-2004, 07:05 AM
aimmaintenance

What radio are ya using?