Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

A few questions

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

A few questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2004, 12:28 PM
Dave C

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A few questions

Good Morning. I am a novice pilot who has been gone from RC Flight for about 5 years. I am 56 years old and I have previously built and flown a Gentle Lady glider for a couple of years and now I am back. I lost my Gentle Lady in a field of wheat and could never find it. I’m sure the combine did though.

I am just starting to build a Spirit glider and it feels good again. Can you tell me what airfoil the Spirit uses for the main wing?

I am using the same table I built on a few years ago and I have one basic problem that is the same as I had back then. My table is a sheet of Celotex on top of a piece of particleboard on top of a solid door sitting up on two saw horses. My problem is that the table is not absolutely flat! How does a person make a table that is absolutely flat? I welcome all suggestions, as I am ready to scrap this table and build another. Please help me to figure this out.

My last question is how to balance my glider for Center of Gravity. I currently will use the marks that are shown on the plans and I read from an older article I saved about a sling to use. Can you offer your best method that you like? I have an interim glider to fly that is an ARF and I wanted to balance it. Right now I am using a stand I made with two dowels that support the plane at the CG on the underside of the wing using the marks on the side of the fuselage.

Thanks a lot. I love reading all of your stories and learning from all of you. I have an Eagle to fly with power after I get my wings back on and feel like it is time to fly in powered flight.

My congratulations to RC Universe for the improvements to the website!
Dave C Seaside Oregon
Old 01-03-2004, 12:38 PM
CafeenMan