Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

AMA and club fees

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

AMA and club fees

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2004, 03:07 AM
kukarzev

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AMA and club fees

Hi!

I am new to RC planes, and I've just realized that it costs a lot not only to build a plane, but to fly it. I am talking about numerous fees.
As far as I understand, there is a $58 AMA membership fee plus my local club wants $100 entry fee plus $60 year membership fee.
This is over $200 in fees only, and I am not even sure what am I getting for it. It's probably more than my first plane will cost since
I am going to build a SPAD and get some used engine and RC because of cost efficiency. Can I be ok without a club?

I mean, I know that I am supposed to get an instructor, and it is virtually impossible to learn to fly on your own, but is it legal? Is there
a law that forbids me flying my plane on my own outside a club? That's one thing. Another thing is, can I possibly learn to fly on my own
using simulators? At least learn good enough, so I wouldn't trash the plane immediately on every takeoff? In principle even crashing planes
doesn't look that bad as long as the engine survives. I am about to build a BUHOR(www.spadtothebone.com) or something similar, and it
doesn't look too complex, I can build two or three of them.

So, what do you think? Thanks in advance.
Old 03-22-2004, 03:54 AM
FHHuber
Banned

Default RE: AMA and club fees

The AMA fee goes partially to pay for liability insurance in case you damage something or hit someone with the model. Note that if you are under 19, you can get AMA membership for as little as $1.