Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner R/C questions...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner R/C questions...

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2002, 10:10 PM
HiVolt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner R/C questions...

Hi. I am a beginner in the R/C field, just bought my first car about 1 week ago. I will list the setup below, then post my question.

Tamiya Chevy S-10 pickup kit (plus a Ford F150 body)
Novak Rooster Reversible ESC
AComs Technisport Hayabusa 2CH AM Radio/Receiver
AComs Servo
Stock 540 Motor
DuraTrax IntelliPeak Charger
1 x Sanyo 3000mAh NiMH battery pack
2 x Nuclear Power 2100mAh NiCD battery packs

OK, here are my questions

#1. Speed Control. While it works great, I do notice that it is very jerky in reverse, especially the farther away the car is. If i drive forward its fine, but reverse is jerky and unresponsive. If I drive closer, its better. I have soldered the 3 capacitors to the motor as suggested in the ESC manual. Any ideas?

#2. Batteries. On the NiMH pack, my stupid charger detects the peak too early (5min or so into the charge) and turns off fast charge. If I push the button again, it keeps charging and sometimes doesnt turn off fast charge even after an hour @ 3amps of charging. It doesn't happen with the cheap NiCD's, they always charge the same amount of time, I timed it, and the charge lasts. I was told by the hobby shop that NiMH take a while to break in, but I've charged it probably 10 times already, and still the same happens. Is it a defective pack, or is the charger crap?

I apologize if I didn't post this in the right forum, but this is my first visit to this board and I felt quite overwhelmed by the amount of forums and all.

If anyone has any insight to any of the problems I listed above, please let me know, I appreciate it very much.
Old 06-17-2002, 12:43 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts