Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

How do I find the airplane kit manufacturer's name?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

How do I find the airplane kit manufacturer's name?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2004, 10:56 AM
eyerina

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I find the airplane kit manufacturer's name?

I was at a swap meet recently and got a GREAT DEAL on a used-but-immaculate P-51 Mustang. It is already assembled and covered, and appears to have been previously flown, but has no damage. It was stripped of all electronics, the engine and engine mount and fuel tank, but is otherwise in perfect condition.

I need to outfit it with electronics, engine, and fuel tank, and set-up throws on the control surfaces, and such. Problem is, I am relatively new at this and would like to go to the manufacturers instructions for guidance. For example, what size and location is the fuel tank? Also, I have no idea what was previously used for an engine; what size or configuration (2- vs. 4-cycle, or rotary). The firewall already has holes and blind-nuts in it, but in a wierd pattern. Instead of being arranged in a rectangular pattern on the firewall, the engine mount blind-nuts are arranged more like a trapezoid - Shortest side horizontally at the top; 1" at the top, 2" at the bottom and 1-3/4" on each side, like this:

* 1" *

1-3/4" 1-3/4"

* 2" *

I have never seen (in my limited experience) an engine mount like this. Because the existing blind-nuts are cemented in I would like to try to use them if possible to mount the engine.

Here are the specs on the plane.

Wing span: 56-3/4 inches
Length - tip of rudder to tip of cowl: 47-1/4 inches

The ailerons span nearly the length of the wings and are 22-3/4" long and 1" wide.

Landing gear is non-retractable
It has a three-quarter fiberglass cowl. The top quarter of the nose is reinforced balsa