Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Crash Fear

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Crash Fear

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 03:31 AM
HercDoc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crash Fear

As the saying goes "There are 2 types of RC pilots, those who have crashed and those who are going to". I have yet to fly my newly built first plane LT-40, and before I started building my impression was that only the less than diligent pilots crashed planes. Being fairly new to this forum I have spent considerable time reading many different threads in a short time and am feeling that its just a matter of time before I crash. Even if I'm lucky to avoid a crash, I have tail fins snapping off and nose-gear and mains collapsing. Are my fears justified? Or am I just spending too much time in "Crash Pictures & Discussion" forum.

As I am very new to the sport, I am no newbie to aircraft as I am an aircraft mechanic, and have a very good understanding of the big picture, I pay very close attention to detail and and am very thorough. Are there any pilots out there who haven't crashed a plane? and if not how many of your crashes were due to mechanical failure or were pilot error?

Just looking for a realistic view on what to expect.
Old 04-05-2004, 03:40 AM
Felix21685
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Crash Fear

i crashed cause of high wind..my stuid mistake to take her up
Felix
Old 04-05-2004, 03:51 AM
photoniq

I too paniced when I read all the crash stories (I am still on a trainer too). I think it has made me much more wary and definitely resulted in my choosing not to fly on one particularly windy day. Thanks to the forum for saving my plane that time. I just hope that by the time I do crash, and I guess it will happen one day, I have the building skills to repair it again
P.
Old 04-05-2004, 04:16 AM
jcflysrc
My Feedback: (50)