Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Question on Confidence.

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Question on Confidence.

Old 04-08-2004, 03:08 PM
buenger_2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on Confidence.

I have 4 airplanes. A superstar 40 GWS A-10 warthog/ A sukkoi Profile 40 size and a recently finished Funtana 40s 3d. I have been flying for 3 years. AMA #806883
Can take off and fly all of my airplanes except the Funtana. I have flown the lowing sukkoi many many times without a single crash and love the plane. My question is...I have a brand new Funtana....(I use the futaba 7cap) balanced and ready to go....I don't seem to have the confidence to fly it...I've taxied it and everything...had the wheels 6 inches off the ground but am afraid of crashing...Any advice on how the funtana flies??? or what I should watch out for when I fly it...thanks
Old 04-08-2004, 03:21 PM
Montague

Default RE: Question on Confidence.

I've never flown one, but one of my ex-students now has one, and he hasn't destroyed it yet .

To get some confidence, find a more experienced pilot and get him to take it up high and hand it over to you. You can even use a buddy box for the first flight just in case. But usually, just having him there to talk you though things and get you away from the ground that first time should be enough.

(There are lots and lots of guys in my club who won't maiden their own planes, they seek out other guys to take it up and hand it over. A large part of that is just nerves)
Old 04-08-2004, 03:28 PM
staggerwing
My Feedback: (5)

We have a fellow in our club with a Funtana, it doesn't seem to have any bad habits.

I agree with Montague, find an old timer (like me) to give it a check fly for you. He can trim it out and hand it over to you. Then if you are still nervous, he can land it for you. There are a couple of us in our club that seem to check fly each new plane that shows up at the field.