Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

OS .46 for LT-40

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

OS .46 for LT-40

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2004, 11:22 AM
bryris

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS .46 for LT-40

I have heard that the OS LA .46 is a cheap engine. Is the OS a good motor? What motor brand would be the best .46 size?
Old 05-08-2004, 12:37 PM
ICE_MAN

Default RE: OS .46 for LT-40

A .46 should pull the trainer around OK. I dont know all the specs on the LT-40 but i had one on my superstar and it pulled it ok. I know I may get bashed for this but i no longer will use O.S. engines. My 46 LA worked OK for 3 flights then it all went down the drain. It started leaking, wouldnt start, when it did start it would run like a pile of crap. I know that it wasn't my fault as I have 2 years nitro tuning experience and thats high power VERY tempermental race engines. I know use Super Tigre engines. I have a .51 in my superstar 40 that will give it unlimited vertical and hover. Takeoffs can be made a 1/4 throttle and at full throttle the rollout for take off is only 5-10 feet(probably quicker but i haven't tried it).I highly recomend this brand. Check out the .45 they have. Forgot to mention I'll be putting a 51 super tigre in my UCANDO.
Old 05-08-2004, 03:30 PM
Tannerlb

Yea, I have the Thunder Tiger .46 Pro for my LT-40 i heard that it will haul @$$. HOpe this helps!!
Old 05-08-2004, 04:52 PM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would HIGHLY recommend the following motors for an LT-40: OS 46 FX OR 46 AX (You want the ball bearing motor), Thunder Tiger Pro 46. The ball bearing engines cost a little more (The TT should be closest in price to the LA), but provide plenty of power for your trainer and then can be used in your second plane. Go to the Tower site and check the HP specs on the 46 LA and the 46 FX or AX, you will see what I mean.