Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

i'm new, got some questions?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

i'm new, got some questions?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2002, 06:36 PM
AirCommander
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i'm new, got some questions?

i'm very new to all of the RC hobby. and i 'm looking into purchasing a 4-6 channel radio. someone is selling a Futaba Conquest 6 FM and there's another guy that sell the JR Max 4 AM for a good price. both Transmitters has the receiver included. my question is: what's the difference b/w AM and FM signal radio? which manufacture of 4-6channels radio do you guys recommend for a reasonable price? another question is what actualy CRYSTALs are for do i need them?

thanks in advance.
Old 08-27-2002, 07:11 PM
Crashem

The simple answer between AM and FM is AM send the signal by amplitude modulation (Remember the Reception and interference on AM Radios) and FM uses Frequency modulation. I was always told that FM sets are less prone to interference and therefore are a better choice. The Crystals are I believe used to tune to a specific frequency and are required for the radio to work. I have also been told that on most Radios you cannot switch freqs by changing just the crystals without sending the radio back to the factory.

I'm sure their are many out their who can provide a more scientific explanation

Just my 2 cents
Old 08-27-2002, 07:17 PM
AirCommander

Crashem: thanks for the reply.

anyone else?
Old 08-27-2002, 07:20 PM
flatfour
My Feedback: (8)

If you are planning on using the buddy box system to learn to fly, this pretty much rules out the AM radios.

A buddy box is where you connect a slave transmitter box to a master transmiter. The instructor can then give and take control of the plane via a switch.