Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Brand new to this

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Brand new to this

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2005, 03:34 AM
Ace-Maker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new to this

Hello I am brand new to the world of RC and would like to get into Airplanes. I especially would like to build/fly WWII replicas like the P51 Mustang. [hr]

Any suggestions on a good place to start?

What is a good beginner plane that I can get started with? [8D]
Old 07-06-2005, 05:46 AM
Fastsky

Default RE: Brand new to this

Hi, its great that you are asking questions before you buy anything! Some beginner facts for you: RC airplanes trainer airplanes weigh around 5-6 lbs. and fly around 40 mph. This means that you need lots of airspace away from cars/houses/people and you will need a decent sized runway to takeoff/land. This means that you should find an RC club and go visit them. You can find one by phoneing the local RC stores that sell RC airplanes and asking them for contact numbers. Find the closest club and see when you can get out for a visit. Some club instructors may prefer a specific brand trainer and radio so its best to visit before you buy anything. Some clubs even have a club trainer that you try flying for a flight or 2 to see if you really like it before you spend your money. Training on a buddy box is the safest and most common way to learn and will save your plane dozens of times while you learn how to fly. Training is also free when you join the RC club so its well worth it. So my advise, visit an RC club before you do anything else. [8D]
Old 07-06-2005, 07:00 AM
rwright142

Welcome!

First tip: Heed Fastsky's advice!

I have only been in the hobby for a few months and have seen a lot of new people jump right in and want to fly right away. Take your time. I will save you money and you will learn more. Join a club.