Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Need help for GP CAP 232 Build

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Need help for GP CAP 232 Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2006, 11:48 PM
enaggs26

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help for GP CAP 232 Build

I just bought a Great Planes .40 CAP 232 kit for Christmas. This is my first attempt to build from a kit and I have question concerning a term they use in the manual. In step 9 of the build it states the following:

9. Make two laminated elevator balance tabs from the
four 1/8" die-cut balsa pieces. Make one rudder balance tab
from the two die-cut pieces.

Okay, now for the stupid question. What do they mean when they say "laminated". I don't want to screw this up, so I figure I would ask the pros!!!

THANKS FOR THE HELP!!

Erik
Old 01-06-2006, 01:44 AM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Need help for GP CAP 232 Build

Laminate:
To beat or compress into a thin plate or sheet.
To divide into thin layers.
To make by uniting several layers.
To cover with thin sheets.

www.dictionary.com

What they are telling you to do is to take several pieces of wood and glue them together. Usually, this involves putting multiple pieces of the same size on top of each other and glueing them all together. That will make 1 larger and thicker part from several "sandwiched" pieces.

Thats not my first choice for your first kit. You can do it--but it will turn out nicer if you buy something easy and build that first.

Try a 4 Star 40 or an LT-40 from Sig. You'll gain valuable building skills and if you make a minor mistake--it will still fly just fine.

You make a mistake when building a Cap 232 and it's gonna rear it's ugly head as soon as you get it off the ground. Probably not gonna last long with a twisted wing or a twisted fuselage.