Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

"Windy" trainer

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

"Windy" trainer

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2006, 03:58 PM
kulgan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Windy" trainer

I'm a newbie looking to buy a plane. I have been playing around with an Areoace and having a lot of fun. One of the problems I have (other than being old) is that I live in Nebraska and it is rarely "wind free". When I am first learning I will wait for calm conditions but I wonder which trainers are better in the wind. I've read that the Megatech Freedom Flyer is OK in the wind, not crazy about the brand but it seems like a decent plane. Others I'm considering are the EasyStar, Areobird Challenger and T-Hawk. Is one of these OK in 10-ish mph winds after I have some experience or is there a better choice. Thanks.
Old 05-14-2006, 04:22 PM
lalaland

Default RE: "Windy" trainer

Carl Goldberg Falcon lll flies Great in the wind!

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDJB5&P=0

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11155.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	461332  
Old 05-14-2006, 04:34 PM
Missileman

I have only flown two trainers, 40 size club trainer (don't know what it is) and my 40 size Kadet Senior, I flew both in fairly high wind.
From that experience and talking to others I would go out on a limb and say that any 40 size or larger glow engine trainer will handle fairly high wind conditions. Ground handling in cross wind can be tricky but if you can take off and land into the wind you should have no problems.
Stay away from small electric planes if you want to fly in the wind.
Old 05-14-2006, 04:38 PM
bubbagates
My Feedback: (32)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts