Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Noob Question.

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Noob Question.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2006, 08:53 PM
sparky577

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob Question.

What does it mean to "Balloon" during landing? I've been fling for a few years, on and off, and i've never heard the term. Thanks for any input.
Old 08-03-2006, 09:30 PM
elenasgrumpy
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Noob Question.

That would be when in an attempt to land, as you approach the runway & are beginning to bring her down to the ground the plane will balloon up on you. Or in other words it will rise up, sometimes quite violently. My friends Sukhoi would do it so bad it would take numerous attempts to get it on the ground. Each time he thought he had it, it would shoot back up from maybe 5 or 6ft off the deck to 20 to 30 ft in the blink of an eye. I think he was too tail heavy. This is the only way I know of that I've heard the term "Ballooning" used, I may be wrong or there maybe other ways in that this term is used, but this is the only one that I know of. Hope it helps some, more importantly I hope it is correct.[&:]
Old 08-03-2006, 10:43 PM
Mr. Canadian

I thought "ballooning" ment when you came in too fast and too steep and planted it hard on the ground and bending the landing gear.
Each time he thought he had it, it would shoot back up from maybe 5 or 6ft off the deck to 20 to 30 ft in the blink of an eye. I think he was too tail heavy.
Being tail heavy does cause this to happen, you'll come in to land and as soon as you flare a little too much the plane will jerk up as if a sudden gust of wind hit it.
Old 08-03-2006, 11:15 PM
elenasgrumpy

Yup, that is exactly what it was doing. I thought that is what 'Ballooning" was, but as I stated I could be wrong.[&:]
Old 08-04-2006, 02:19 AM
alan0899

G'day Mate,