Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

K&B engine

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

K&B engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2003, 10:35 PM
The Dodger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K&B engine

Hi All,
I'm just starting out and I bought a plane at an auction that I'm fixing up for my first lessons this spring. It has a K&B .45 engine on it. Can anyone tell me anything about this engine...good...bad?
The Dodger
Old 02-10-2003, 11:11 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default K&B engine

If your engine has four cylinder bolts then it is a Sportster 45. they were made in 20, 28, 45 and 65 sizes. It was an attempt by K&B to moderize and compete with more modern designs in cost. Its a sleeve less AAC design with *****y porting and a bushed crank. Early ones had no bushing just hardened alum for the crank to run in and later a bronze bush was used.

They can be an effective engine but many had trouble with carb design that was differant than most on the market and there were at least two different carbs produced. The muffler system was among the quitest on the market and power is reasonable but far from the most powerfull. Also the muffler has a tendency to shead the tailcone but this can be prevented by normal methods. This engine once you learn to carry a little more prop can become quite friendly and live with the leaking out the crank bushing can be useful.

The .45 was the least popular of the series and the .65 is a superior runner.

I have used numbers of the whole series and I still have a forty five on my cross country airplane which has successfully completed flights of up to eighty miles, two hours long and involveing an elevation increase of twentyfive hundred feet over the course of that trip (a difficult task for any engine).

John
Old 02-10-2003, 11:46 PM
comtech001
My Feedback: (3)

Default K&B engine

HI there ///