Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

ENGINE MOUNTING{SIDEWAYS} Newbe needs help.

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

ENGINE MOUNTING{SIDEWAYS} Newbe needs help.

Old 02-12-2003, 08:14 PM
rosenbaum11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ENGINE MOUNTING{SIDEWAYS} Newbe needs help.

Im new to this hobby and building on second plane {ULTRA STICK 40}the instructoins call to mount engine side ways W/glow plug to right. Ive seen this method on many planes at the field i fly at. What i dont understand is there is an "out of balance condition" with it mounted that way, the jug sticks out witch would make the plane spinn to right, where as upright all the down force is pushing straight down. Mount is centerd straight no offset to counter react this. what keeps this plane from turning to the right when flying? It seems to me you would have to add 3or 4 ozs to left wing to balance. I was wondering because I saw a plane crash this mourning w/ engine jug mounted to right. Guess What? he built up speed tail lifted plane spun to right demolished plane. Ive never flew a plane with an engine jug mounted sideways before . Is flying a plane set up this way a trick or was it other problems with his plane? Please explain this to me so i will fly this plane. Im real nervious about this. Keep in mind im new & might not get it at first. I figured this was best place to find out.
Old 02-12-2003, 08:35 PM
mattebox

The short answer to your question is, yes, a sideways mounted engine will cause a slight lateral imbalance in the plane. This imbalance should be corrected by adding weight to the opposite wing. But you have to laterally balance any plane, whether it has a side or upright mounted engine.