Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

trainer set up

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

trainer set up

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 02:17 PM
Nwerdna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trainer set up

Ok, I'm just getting into RC stuff and I'm wanting to get a trainer. I'm contimplating geting an Arising Star 40 ARF trainer which just includes all the hardware to finish the frame. I need to know what else i need to get. Could y'all give me a general list of all the necessary parts-motors, radio stuff, feul pumps ect. and links to where I can find them? I could just go to a model shop but I really would like to make this project as cheaply as possible without ending up with a trashy plane. So I think that if I piece together a plane it will end up less expensive. I'm hoping to keep this progject under 200$ because I if it goes over this much I might as well get a RTF flyer for about 250$!

Thanks!
Old 06-01-2007, 02:27 PM
bruce88123

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: trainer set up

What are you paying for the Arising Star 40 ARF so we know what we have to work with? Might just tell you to get the RTF.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=LXCXF4**&P=ML
Old 06-01-2007, 02:46 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

The Arising Star by Seagull Models is a nice trainer and a bargain at its typical $79.99 sale price. It would fly well with the $49.99 Super Tigre GS-40 engine. Any good sport radio package like the Futaba 4YF, the JR Quattro, the Hitec Laser 4, or the Airtronics VG400, would fly the Arising Star and all are available for $119.99 from various sources.

Unfortunately, this puts you at $249.97 plus tax and/or shipping and handling. You still have to buy fuel line ($2.19), a propeller ($2.89), and a spinner ($5.99) to complete the basic building of the plane.