Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Help! - Exponential Controls

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Help! - Exponential Controls

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 09:38 AM
rckowal

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! - Exponential Controls

I'm a newbie to RC. I am learning to fly using a basic (no ailerons) electric trainer. I find myself "over controlling" it. It seems that it may be easier for me to learn to fly if the rudder & elevator controls were less responsive.

I am not in an area where training by instructors is available so I'm on my own. I would like to hear from any one that has used exponential control rates as well as rudder & elevator end point adjustments (throw limits) to learn to fly (or instructors). I have these capabilities in my transmitter but lack practical experience in how much to use.

Your suggestions will be much appreciated.
Old 10-08-2007, 09:49 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Help! - Exponential Controls

First off, welcome to RCU. I hope that we can help you get airborne.

As far as using exponential on your trainer I HIGHLY DISCOURAGE using it. What you are doing is overcontrolling the plane. This is perfectly normal, every new pilot does the same thing. You need to learn to have a lighter touch on the sticks. If you use the radio to "cheat" this you will never develop the skills needed to fly correctly, the radio will simply become a crutch that you will not be able to do without.