Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

avistar next step

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

avistar next step

Old 11-05-2007, 09:28 PM
  #1  
panzertank
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default avistar next step

i have a hobbico sky fly and a TON of G3.5 training. i could get the hobbico avistar as my next plane right?
Old 11-05-2007, 09:37 PM
  #2  
acarter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step

I would say that it depends if you plan on getting an instructor, if you are then by all means go for it. With the realflight and sky fly experience you might make it (unlikely). Although g3 doesn't teach you how to start and tune an engine or set up a radio.

Austin
Old 11-05-2007, 10:12 PM
  #3  
Mr67Stang
 
Mr67Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Raeford, NC
Posts: 3,822
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: avistar next step


ORIGINAL: panzertank

i have a hobbico sky fly and a TON of G3.5 training. i could get the hobbico avistar as my next plane right?
Sure you can. But as acarter put it you still may not be able to fly it on your own... Please get help from an experienced R/C pilot. It is well worth it.
Old 11-05-2007, 11:41 PM
  #4  
ro347
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step

In the long run...it will be much cheaper and you will spend much less time repairing if you get someone to teach you.
Old 11-06-2007, 01:33 AM
  #5  
OzMo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
OzMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: OZark, MO
Posts: 2,694
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step

What they said,
heres why The computer planes are always in perfect condition (so will yours after the instructer checks it out)
simulator planes are always perfectly balanced ( your instructer will check that also)
sim motors run like a top in all conditions and are perfectly broken in ( yep see instructer here too)
Wind is often not set on the computer even if possible (your instructer will tell you all kinds of stuff about how wind effects your plane)
Your instructer will tell you how well your doin and your computer may do that also but the computer won't tell you if your deodorant works after your first near crash!LOL
Old 11-06-2007, 04:49 AM
  #6  
flyX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: el centro, CA
Posts: 645
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step

You'll be okay with an avistar as a trainer.
Get an instructor like everybody suggested.
Put stripes, checkers on the bottom to make it more visiable.

Once you get use to it. you'll want more roll ability. The avistar roll
a little bit more becuase it dosn't have flat bottom airfoil.
I still had to seal the hinge gap.

I actually converted mine to a tail grager becuase of my landing field..it's not paved
and there's soft spots. The nose gear digs even after a good landing.
That dosn't happens in a sim.lol

It's not a floater, floater like a senior kadet, but it's gental.

If you want a more success rate of getting you past this stage get a duraplane.
I crashed that thing so many times, into fences ,trees .
leaning how to land , approches, touch and go.
It's not the pretties thing in the world ,but it was an excellent tool.
Plus it didn't get toss around in the cross wind as much.

You're going to crash eventaully, but that water sprout thing of roo I didn't have
to fix after every crash.

Old 11-06-2007, 08:12 AM
  #7  
HampdenTech
Senior Member
 
HampdenTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lakeville, MA
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step


ORIGINAL: OzMo

What they said,
heres why The computer planes are always in perfect condition (so will yours after the instructer checks it out)
simulator planes are always perfectly balanced ( your instructer will check that also)
sim motors run like a top in all conditions and are perfectly broken in ( yep see instructer here too)
Wind is often not set on the computer even if possible (your instructer will tell you all kinds of stuff about how wind effects your plane)
Your instructer will tell you how well your doin and your computer may do that also but the computer won't tell you if your deodorant works after your first near crash!LOL
You forgot one other thing. The transmitter you take to the field doesn't have that red reset button!!
Old 11-06-2007, 12:12 PM
  #8  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: avistar next step


ORIGINAL: HampdenTech


You forgot one other thing. The transmitter you take to the field doesn't have that red reset button!!
That's why I'm always unconsciously squeezing my TX at the field!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.