Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

new pilot 1st flight today

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

new pilot 1st flight today

Old 03-01-2008, 11:48 PM
sportrider_fz6

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new pilot 1st flight today

my Father in law bought a Super Cub a few weeks ago after I highly recommended it as a beginner plane. he had no flight experience only flew for 20 minutes on a Sim the day he bought it. even though I'm a relatively new pilot I took on the role of instructor. after briefing him again on the controls I took the plane off and climbed to a high alt and passed the TX. with an occasional verbal direction he flew the plane pretty good, he was a little heavy on the sticks on the first flight and I did make one "grab the TX and save the plane" but aside from that he did good. the first flight ended with me landing the plane for him.
on the second flight he wanted to take off on his own so after a little practice taxiing he got the plane in the air with no problems and flew out the entire battery with out me having to make a save. that flight ended when the flight time had exceeded the battery and I took control and was able to glide the plane in for a landing.
flight three he did by himself from take off to landing the landing was on the cross street instead of the "runway" but the plane came down pretty smooth with no damage.
this is my opinion on the Hobbyzone Super Cub. it is one of the best beginner planes out there!!! I'm self taught on one, now my father in law is with a little instructional help, and my wife has flown the plane with me doing the take offs and landings. I'd say the plane has prov-en itself to me. and for the record the ACT was turned off and his plane is leaving just the way it came.
Old 03-02-2008, 12:00 AM
sportrider_fz6

Default RE: new pilot 1st flight today