Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner: Need help!

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner: Need help!

Old 05-15-2003, 08:57 AM
Kingdom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner: Need help!

Hi guys! I'm totally new to r/c planes. I've read a bit on the subject but there are many things I'm still not familiar with. I hope someone can really assist me.

Since I know nuts about r/c planes, how should I go about the hobby?

I want to purchase a r/c plane (trainer, high wing), and I would prefer it to be in kit form, cause I'm interested in building the plane and learning the ropes. Is that advisable? Which models would you recommend?

Alternatively, if you are suggesting a RTF or ARF, which models would you recommend? (I'm not really keen in RTF or ARF though)

I understand that some kits do not include the radio and engine. What kinds of radios and engines should I get? I was thinking of Futaba or Quattro, 4 channel with similar servos. Would that be sufficient? Or does that sound ambitious? I hope to buy a reasonably priced radio that can stay with me for years to come.

I've read up on the types of r/c planes but I'm still confused over the ways r/c planes fly. What do you mean by fuel or electric planes? Which is more advisable for a trainer?

Costs wise, I would prefer something conservative, nothing too extravagant.

I hope some kind soul can assist me.
Old 05-15-2003, 09:29 AM
RCaeroguy
My Feedback: (4)

OK. This is what I recommend solely because it's what I did and I'm very happy with the results. It's one of my favorite planes in the hanger.

Plane (kit)
Tower Trainer 40

Plane (ARF)
Hobbico Avistar - if you want to get in the air quick, the instructors in my club highly recommend this plane. I don't have one, myself.

Radio