Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Universal chargers (which one)?????

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Universal chargers (which one)?????

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 08:45 PM
DoubleDD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Universal chargers (which one)?????

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post but here goes. I am somewhat new to the flying rc thing and I currently have a pulse xt 40 size with the spektrum Dx7 radio and servos with a 4.8v 1100ma receiver battery . I use the wall plug charger to charge my receiver and radio battery before flying and this usually is done right after flying for a full 16 hours. I recently started building a funtana 90 with 2300 supertigre with the spektrum receiver and 821 servos. I was thinking of using a 4.8v or even 6v 1600ma or so battery for receiver and will use the same radio but I would like a charger that would do these for me at a quicker rate . I have been told that batteries should be cycled or discharged and then charged or the batteries won't last long. Can someone shed some light on what type or particular model of charger would work well for me to charge, discharge , cycle all in one unit? Thanks ahead of time.
Old 09-09-2008, 08:55 PM
Charlie P.

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Universal chargers (which one)?????

I have a Trition Jr that I really like. You need a seperate 12v power supply at home (unless you want to charge at the car in the garage). Works GREAT at the field to recharge a spare flight battery while you fly another pack (or charge a spare transmitter pack).

I fly 4.8v 1450 mAh packs (sometimes two) and use 1600 mAh transmitter packs.

The Hobbico Accu-Cycle works, too. I used one of those for six years and it still does the job. Just not quite as well as the Triton Jr.
Old 09-09-2008, 09:23 PM
ro347
My Feedback: (13)