Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Advice for a Beginner with no access to a club

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Advice for a Beginner with no access to a club

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2008, 07:21 AM
Stixoz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice for a Beginner with no access to a club

G'Day all.

I'm keen to get in to Rc aircraft and I've browsed through these forums a little and see the same advice from everyone JOIN A CLUB. Well i live in central Queensland Australia and the closest club is a 4-5 hour drive away! So i need some advice on what to read and what plane to buy this weekend ;-)

I have flown a few electric "Park Flyers" i guess you would call them, 2 and 3 channel electric "foam wing" type things. I have a good 10 years experience flying PC flight sims as well so i'm no expert but not a total newb either.

I would like to get a petrol/nitro powered RC plane, something that i can fly for more than 10-15 mins per battery that wont get blown in to another suberb when a bee flys past I plan on flying it at the local football field which isn't exactly a great runway either so it needs to be rather stable on the ground and have a very slow take off speed (Flaps would be great). It would be great to get something possible of some aerobatics (Inverted flight etc) but that is not overly important because i realise i have a lot to learn and no one except you guys to teach me.

Oh i have a 34 channel twister RC aircraft which i can fly no worrys as well. My main concerns is i have never flown a petrol plane and i have a rough landing strip.

So what do you suggest? Keep playing fetch with my dog?

Thanks in advance guys

Stix
Old 12-03-2008, 07:50 AM
bingo field

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Advice for a Beginner with no access to a club