Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Engine problems needle valve adj

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Engine problems needle valve adj

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 08:33 PM
maxwell18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine problems needle valve adj

I am a newbie on this, but worked on military a/c for 34 years recip and jets. I have a new NexStar with a Max FXi 46 and I am breaking it in. It has a limiter to limit the travel on the adj of the needle valve but is suppose to be able to fine tune witin the limits. Runs rich I turned the needle valve to the limit stops clock wise. I cannot get it over about 60 percent it just quits no matter where the needle valve is. Have fuel all over the side of the a/c running just a few minutes. All this is running on the ground. After it stops fuel dripping out of the muffler. I know it is way too rich. Has anybody heard about this problem or am I turning the needle valve too fast?
Thanks

Old 12-08-2008, 08:47 PM
flaminheli

Default RE: Engine problems needle valve adj

How many tanks have you ran thru it? I had to remove the limiter on my son's Nexstar and turn it in (lean) 1 1/2 turns to get it to run right after a four tanks of fuel. It was way to rich from the factory, as far as I am concerned, even for breakin. During the breakin it would not go past about 75% throttle with the settings the factory had the limiter set at.
Old 12-08-2008, 08:53 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts