Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Fox .40 BB engine

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Fox .40 BB engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2008, 02:05 PM
2STROKED

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fox .40 BB engine

My grampa used to fly planes and he gave me his old trainer. We figured out it would need minor repairs. We took the engine(fox .40 bb) apart and the bearings on the shaft that comes off the crank are gummed up and it won't rotate. How do i take it apart to clean it or replace the bearings?I am completely new to this. Thanks!
Old 12-27-2008, 02:54 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Fox .40 BB engine

The good news is that replacing the bearing will be neither difficult nor expensive. My best advice is to have you check out the Glow Engines forum here at RCU:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/forumid_114/tt.htm

Many of the regular posters are long time RC pilots with an amazing amount of knowledge concerning glow engines.
Old 12-27-2008, 08:50 PM
evan-RCU

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

First a bit of model fuel in the carb will loosen up the carb and the bearings. The varnish that is built up is softer than the steel bearings so it won't hurt to turn it over to get the new fuel to disolve the varnish. One you get it started the heat will finish removing the sludge.

You could use gasoline but it's more dangerous to do so and you have to be very careful.

The .40BB was a great motor in the mid 1970 when it came out. A real power house motor that is pretty comprable with todays .40s.

Also Fox has a very resonable repair program. They only charge for parts for their repairs. Or at least they did the last time I checked, a couple years ago.
Old 12-27-2008, 08:55 PM
OzMo
My Feedback: (3)