Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Engine Questions? Tower .61

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Engine Questions? Tower .61

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2003, 02:20 PM
FlyBoyDavid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Questions? Tower .61

Hi all! I'm new to Glow engines. My first is a Tower Hobbies .61. I can't join the local club until next month. So I figured I come here for some advice. Basically with the engine set at factory settings it won't reach full throttle. It dies at about 75% throttle. Just seems to choke out and die. I've noticed that the muffler will have a bit of fuel in it when I get done fiddling for the day. Which leaves me to believe that it is way too rich. Is this correct?

The directions state to turn the needle valve out 4.5 turns. Then lean it untill you hear the engine change pitch and run smooth(or something to that nature). Then pinch the line. If it speeds up lean it a little more. And do this untill it doesn't speed up. After that you start dialing in the idle needle.

Should I lean it out untill I can achieve full throttle? Then go from there?

Thanks,
Dave
Old 06-28-2003, 06:21 PM
AlStack
My Feedback: (1)

I have the same engine. Just continure to run it sloppy rich for at least two fuel tanks. Let it break in BEFORE you lean it out to much. If you run it to lean you will kill it.

Hook up with someone from your field for more advice. Onece that engine is broken in, it will be strong and last you a long time.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Al
Old 06-28-2003, 07:51 PM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Dave,
Welcome.

Al gave it to you in a nutshell. I'll just stretch it out a bit.

Lean it out enough to get it to run at full throttle. Run out most of another tank (at least) like that. Then lean it more until it breaks into a "2 cycle" run. Leave it for a few seconds (10 - 20), then richen it back to a 4 cycle run.