Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Toy Aeroplanes?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Toy Aeroplanes?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2010, 10:53 PM
DeferredDefect

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toy Aeroplanes?

Hello!

Has anyone else noticed that when RC aircraft are brought up, everyone instantly assumes you mean Walmart Airhogs and similar "toys"?
I'm sick of having to explain that a Tiger 60 is not made by Hot Wheels, and that I don't need to "Grow up." and stop playing with toy aeroplanes.

Any thoughts?
Old 02-21-2010, 11:01 PM
rgm762
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Toy Aeroplanes?

I get that too, but I'm 47 years old, and after 3 heart attacks. I don't pay attention to those people, the way I look at it, I'm having fun and their jealous
Old 02-21-2010, 11:03 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

I've been flying RC for almost 14 years now, and I'll be the first to admit that they are nothing but big toys. Yes, they are expensive, huge, powerful, and can hurt people if they aren't used correctly, but in the end they are just toys that we play with. I don't mind admitting that one bit at all. The way I look at it, toys keep you young!!!!

Ken
Old 02-22-2010, 12:04 AM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I agree, they are basically serious toys just the same way a boat or motorcycle would be a toy. I don't that the general public quite understands the size, performance and complexity though. They think of some $39 thing that their kid had, not a serious aircraft. Not that there is anything wrong with those $39 toys of course, I've been known to frustrate the cat with some toy helicopters.