Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

DIY transmitter/receiver

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

DIY transmitter/receiver

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 08:03 PM
jcampbell

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY transmitter/receiver

Hey guys,

I'm new to rc aircraft and was wondering as to the logistics of building my own transmitter etc. Is it possible to use variable resistors, A/D converters, MCUs and a transmitter module to control the rudder, for example? I know that just stringing these things together won't make a plane fly but is this general concept correct or am I off track?

Your feedback would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

Jordan
Old 05-23-2010, 08:43 PM
Redback

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DIY transmitter/receiver

First question is why would you want to build your own Tx?

Whilst building transmitters (and receivers) from components was not uncommon when I started with planes (don't ask how long ago) modern gear is so good that there is little reason to try and build your own (except maybe just for the h*ll of it).

If cost is the issue you are probably better off looking for a second hand Tx, with lots of people moving to 2.4 there is a lot of cheap 36Mhz gear around over here, I assume it is the same with in En Zed!

Terry
Old 05-23-2010, 09:00 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

ORIGINAL: Redback

First question is why would you want to build your own Tx?

Whilst building transmitters (and receivers) from components was not uncommon when I started with planes (don't ask how long ago) modern gear is so good that there is little reason to try and build your own (except maybe just for the h*ll of it).

If cost is the issue you are probably better off looking for a second hand Tx, with lots of people moving to 2.4 there is a lot of cheap 36Mhz gear around over here, I assume it is the same with in En Zed!

Terry