Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

How many poles does my motor have?

Old 11-17-2010, 06:24 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berwick, LA
Posts: 911
Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default How many poles does my motor have?

How can I tell how many poles my motor has? I need to know the pole count on my outrunner so the data logging software in my Castle ESC can tell me how many RPMs I'm turning. I called the vendor and when I use their pole count I get an RPM reading that is way too high.
Old 11-17-2010, 11:15 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How many poles does my motor have?

If it is an outrunner, count the magnets. For inrunners just play with the # of poles and see if you get RPM = Kv x V when you run it no-load.... if the number you get is unreasonable adjust the # of poles in the software.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.