Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Combo for scratch built t-28??????

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2004, 05:30 PM
NickC5FE
My Feedback: (31)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Combo for scratch built t-28??????

Hey all, i am new to electrics, and am wondering what power choice i should go with for a scratch built project. I have scaled down some dave platt plans for a t-28 to 58%. It has a 38 inch ws and i have decided on making it from the lightest possible materials. I need to know what an airplane of this size would be p[owered with. Now, i am not rich, but i would like a nice brushless/lipoly setup. Thanks, here are pix of the plans. Nick
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36807.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	146661   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh21511.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	146662  
Old 06-29-2004, 09:25 AM
expat flyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Combo for scratch built t-28??????

Hi Nick,
The T28 looks a nice subject, tricycle gear and enough dihedral to help stability, but it hasn't got a lot of wing area.

You really need to be a bit more precise about the sort of model you want in order to choose a combination that works.

How light is light - are you going for balsa or depron? Also I'm not clear about the size you are aiming for - 58% of the Dave Platt plan is around 1/10 scale and gives 48" span not 38".

At 1/10 scale I reckon a balsa model could be around 4 lb (1.8 kg) with NiMH cells and might need a 600 motor. (I build bricks though)

At 1/12 scale (41") a balsa model could be around 3 lb (1.3 kg) with NiMH cells. I would expect to use a 400 motor but it will have to fly fast to carry the weight.