Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Newbie needs help with motor break-in

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2004, 12:38 PM
TerryE
My Feedback: (12)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help with motor break-in

I just got a 400 speed motor (came with the Wattage Hyperwing).

I heard that I should break the motor in underwater - will this work? How do I do it?

Also, is this better than breaking it in "dry"?

Should I oil it after?

Sorry about all the questions guys, but I am new to all of this electric stuff and want to do it "right".
Thanks a lot for the help
Terry
Old 10-04-2004, 12:55 PM
Direwolf

Default RE: Newbie needs help with motor break-in

Yes. Simply submerge the motor in a glass of water, then connect it to a battery. Let it run for a few minutes or so or until the water gets dirty. Rinse and repeat with fresh water at least two or three times. If your tap water is particularly acidic or alkaline, then I would go with bottled water. You can oil the motor afterwords to displace the water, but you'll want to rinse the oil out so you're not spraying oil all over your plane. ;-)

-- Brian
Old 10-04-2004, 01:48 PM
TerryE

Thanks for the info. A few more questions...

Should I use the ESC that came with the motor, or just connect a battery to it?
Should I run it at full throttle, or part throttle?
What kind of oil should I use to lubricate it?

Thanks!
Old 10-04-2004, 02:52 PM
Direwolf

Don't use your ESC... just connect a low-voltage battery to it. One or two D-cells works just fine.