Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Electric motor power ratings

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 07:12 AM
mackey1
My Feedback: (24)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric motor power ratings

Hi,

I'm a fuel/gas pilot trying to go to some electric. I have 4 brushless motors but couldn't tell you which has the most or least power. How does one know "which" motor to use in a given A/C? In fuel, you put a .40-.46 in a 6 lb A/C, etc.

I have a Hacker A20-20L, Himax HA2015-4100,HC2812-0850 (2). I've read about all I can find and I'm totally confused. In the current Model Aviation (AMA) magazine there is an article about homemade motors. The two charts appear to show almost identical specs for both motors although one has a "stacked stator" (2 together) and the article says it is more powerful. How can this be based on the numbers?

HELP!

Bill
Old 05-31-2006, 12:01 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Electric motor power ratings

The main issue with people going from glow to electric is this tendency to believe the thing bolted to the nose of the plane is where the power comes from. It's true for an internal combustion engine, but not with an electric. The first rule of electrics: Motor does not equal Engine