Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

Old 09-30-2006, 11:02 PM
  #1  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

Hi guys, i have the artech cessna and just the other day i turned it on and it just kept beeping like there was no connection to the TX and I thought it may be the receiver shot, so I cucked a new R700 RX in it and it was still doing the same but if i connect all the rudder, elevator etc it just glitches like crazy and still wont let me work the connected control devices.

Do you think it could have somthing to do with a shot ESC or perhaps the crystal or anything?? I am lost as to what it is...

Please help

Jas
Old 09-30-2006, 11:11 PM
  #2  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

Sounds like the ESC, especially if you have already replaced the receiver. Is the beep specifically coming from the ESC? Is it possible that the ESC needs to be reprogrammed? Had that happen once, for some reason it forgot what it had already learned .
Old 09-30-2006, 11:22 PM
  #3  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

hmm...I cant even enter programming mode.

Yes the beeping is the same beeping it makes when you connect your battery...except it beeps like there is no transmitter turned on.
Old 09-30-2006, 11:26 PM
  #4  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

Besides just trying a new ESC, maybe peek at the wires from the ESC to the receiver, and from the ESC to the battery, just make sure no solder joints came loose or anything. Otherwise.....it may be new ESC time [:@]

I guess you could try a new receiver crystal if you have one, plus that might be the cheaper first try to fix, it might make sense if it is acting like the TX is not on. But it sounds like the ESC.
Old 09-30-2006, 11:29 PM
  #5  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

bloody ESC is only 2 months old...damn that RC Smart crap!
Old 09-30-2006, 11:34 PM
  #6  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

Wooooops.....I meant TX crystal.....your already have a nex RX

That's a bummer [:'(]
Old 09-30-2006, 11:39 PM
  #7  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

nah that works fine...I was flying my Ultimate Bi Plane with it and no probs at all.
Old 10-01-2006, 12:09 AM
  #8  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

ok just got the multimeter out and it is suppliying the Receiver with 5 volts...so looks like the ESC is ok...im saying crystal.

What you guys reckon?
Old 10-01-2006, 09:17 PM
  #9  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

That means it is putting out the correct voltage for the receiver/servos to run, but what about the program mode, did you ever find a way to get into that, or is there just no communication from the TX that would let you re-program it?
Old 10-01-2006, 10:24 PM
  #10  
jaskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jaskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 850
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help with RX, ESC or Crystal??

nope no communication at all...i cant even program it...ill email that useless rc smart guy and see if i can get a response in english....he is hopeless.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.