Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

3 cell or 2 cell

Old 11-07-2006, 08:49 PM
  #1  
zoott
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3 cell or 2 cell

Would it be possible to use a 3 cell 2100 lipo where a 2 cell 2100 lipo is suggested? I know it would require some changes in the setup somewhere like prop down or higher rated speed control.
The reason why is I want to use the batt. pack in another plane as well where 3 cell required.
Thanks for replies
Old 11-07-2006, 08:57 PM
  #2  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3 cell or 2 cell

It will weigh a little more and obviously deliver more voltage, 7.4volts vs. 11.1 volts. So as long as you have a motor capable of handling that voltage, like a 12v motor, and an ESC that can as well, I don't think you should run into any problems. Just watch your COG as the 3 cell pack with be heavier.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.