Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Help with Motor and ESC selection

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2007, 10:39 PM
borna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Motor and ESC selection

Hello all,
I’m new to electric airplane but flown many years of glow plane.
I’m interested to purchase pt-19 sold by hobby lobby
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/pt19.htm

The plane has 38” wingspan, 30” long, 225 sq.in wing area and 21 OZ flying weight,
I’m interested to purchase a motor and ESC for this plane that I can it can also be used by a little larger and heavier plan in future.
Hobby Lobby recommends
21226 AXI 2212/26 Outrunner Brushless Motor and JESAP12W Jeti Advance PLUS 12 Amp Brushless Controller WITH Program .

Since I’m not familiar with these recommendations, I like to know if anyone can give a better suggestion or advice as what other Motor and ESC I can use that can also be a good fit for a larger plane.

Thanks
Borna
Old 02-25-2007, 11:58 PM
supi7
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Help with Motor and ESC selection

Borna,

Usually what they recommend is right, of course you can find less expensive motors and ESC setups that will perform just as well if not better.

Based on the info I found on AXI's web page this AXI 2212/26 motor can be replaced with 400XT for around $25-$40 with a 15A - 18A ESC for around $25-30

If you are looking for more power for larger models in later time 450XT and a 25A ESC is what you will need.
As far as the battery check out the 11.1V 1350 from www.TrueRC.com

Best Wishes,

Dan
TrueRC
Old 02-26-2007, 07:18 AM
WhtBronco