Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Big electric motor needed

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 12:58 PM
djjones69

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big electric motor needed

Hey guys and gals,

I'm a complete newbie to electric flight so sorry in advance for my blatant ignorance. I'm developing a 250lb aircraft that will require approx. 5kW power from an electric power system. Any suggestions of components/major issues etc would be awesome. Doing some maths shows it may be running at 120amps for nearly fifteen minutes; can any speed controllers/batteries handle this kind of amperage? Are there any one-shot (i.e cheap enough to be disposed after use) batteries that will provide high capacitances, i.e. over 7000mAh?

At the moment i'm looking at the following spec;

3S4P of the following li-po packs;

http://www.hobby-lobby.com/flightpower.htm (bottom packs 7400mAh)

The XTRM 7035/08 - 4800 watts motor

and this speed controller;
http://www.e-flight.co.uk/shopexd.asp?id=438

Cheers for any help,

Dan
Old 02-18-2008, 01:29 PM
Technito20

Default RE: Big electric motor needed

I have quite a few electric motor and ESC recommendations for Large Scale planes. But to be quite honest I don't think there's a single RC scaled motor & ESC that's even close to powering a 250lb plane. Are you sure it's gonna weigh that much? It's very unlikey an RC plane will weight even half that. The heaviest I've heard of was about 92lbs. I think it was a custom made 44% Extra. It's about the length of an SUV and close to somewhere around a 200 inch wing span. If the plane you're building is more than double that weight then you may need a pilot's license
Old 02-18-2008, 05:45 PM
cyclops2

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts