Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

4 stroke in a 1/8 buggy???!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 12:27 AM
redrider19

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 stroke in a 1/8 buggy???!!!

ok i have a new 1/8 scale 4wd buggy (roller) and i want to run a 4 stroke engine in it.
what engine is going to be powerfull but reliable?
i have no knowledge of four stroke engines so any info will be helpfull
can i fun regular fuel or do i need glow feul? i want to run regular but dont have to.

please post pics if you have a car running on a 4stroke lets see what you guys have got

thanks!!!!
Old 07-22-2008, 04:12 AM
rcpowerhorse

Default RE: 4 stroke in a 1/8 buggy???!!!

don't, the high end on four strokes is so low
Old 07-22-2008, 04:48 AM
Technex

I also would love to run a 4 stroke nitro engine in one. They are meant to have crazy torque and lots, lots of fuel efficiency.

Edit: They'll sound nice too I bet!
Old 07-22-2008, 07:14 AM
rcdude7
My Feedback: (264)

If you want to run a four cycle in your 1/8 car, it will most likely have to be a airplane engine. Do you have a machine shop available to make all the parts you are going to have to design to make this conversion? Four cycle plane engines have a upper safe rev limit of about 12,000 rpm before they float their valves and sustain mechaical damage. You will need make some serious gearing changes to deal with the torque and power curves of the engine. You will have to use a large engine to equal the performance of a .30 buggy engine, like maybe a .91 or 1.20. A large four cycyle makes lots of torque and chances are the cars stock driveline will not take the abuse. Cooling might be a problem, as four cycles tend to run hotter and most airplane engines have minimal cooling fins as required for flight, where there is constant, heavy airflow to keep temps under control. You might need to use a fan or drive fast all the time to cool the engine down.