Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Century - Predator, Hawk IV, Falcon, Raven
Reload this Page >

Century Phoenix 52 4-stroke heli engine

Community
Search
Notices

Century Phoenix 52 4-stroke heli engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2006, 01:15 PM
flytheedge
My Feedback: (84)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Century Phoenix 52 4-stroke heli engine

Hey, everybody. I just got a Century Phoenix 52 4-stroke heli. The heli is discontinued and the manual calls for an OS 52 4-stroke engine. Is it required that you use this engine, or can I install the OS .50SXH-Hyper engine in this thing?? I'm brand new to helicopters and would rather have this engine on it. Please advise.

Extra_230 aka Clinton
Old 01-07-2006, 01:44 PM
syclic

Default RE: Century Phoenix 52 4-stroke heli engine

As it is you cannot use an OS 50 as it has way to much power, uses a far different gearing etc.. Note: The OS 52FS had even less power then the OS28FSH two stroke engine!

If you want to use a 2 stroke, I would suggest the OS32, change the gearing using the inexpensive clutch and clutch bell from the Hawk and the primary 13T pinion gear from the Hawk. You will also probably find that you will have to change the lower mainframes & engine mount to that from the Hawk Pro.

You still will not have as good a heli as the great little Hawk Pro because the Phoenix used bushings on all bellcranks, had a far softer rotor damping, used the shorter mainshaft that was only 8mm in diameter (limits your pitch range to sport aerobatics), used the wire drive tail instead of the torque tube of the Pro and a number of other significant differences.

But with the changes above it will still make a good trainer.
Old 01-14-2006, 12:57 PM
flytheedge

Hey, Thanks a lot for the advice! How'd it fly with the OS 52 4-stroke heli version?? I'm just using it as a cheap trainer platform anyway. Have a wonderful day!
Clint
Old 01-16-2006, 08:28 PM
syclic