Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Troublemaker Resurection

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 10:46 AM
ChiefK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Troublemaker Resurection

My first competition pattern airplane was a J&J Troublemaker which I flew to a 2nd place (Novice) in the 1974 AMA Nationals. I sold the Troublemaker when the USAF reassigned me somewhere where I couldn't take the airplane. When I was able to resume RC Flying, I recall a Kirkland Intruder, two Dirty Birdys, and a Mach 1. Then came the 20+ years away from RC while earning a MS in Computer Science, family issues, establishing a post USAF career, etc. Now, semi-retired (I'm an adjunct instructor at a local community college), RC is in my life again. Assembled a SIG "Somethin' Extra" to get started, built a Tsunami 40 for fun, discovered SPA and got the pattern bug once more. Scratch built a Deception which flew great but had a short expiration date, so got a WM Intruder ARF to have something to fly. Scratch built another Deception which also had a short expiration date, but is repairable (requires a new fuselage) and I'm doing that. But a member of my local flying club had a job related relocation and in the process of cleaning out a lot of stuff he didn't want to move, he offered me a partially built J&J Troublemaker that he quit working on, he said maybe 15-20 years prior, which was stashed in his garage. So I stashed it in my garage for almost two years now. But here I am finally working on it.